Blog Reflection, Monica Castro

Posted: December 18, 2014 in Blog Reflections
Tags: , ,

By: Monica Castro

(Question: How have you used SEO and tags to help search engines locate your blog?)

Getting search engines to locate our blog is not an easy thing to do. However, I tried to get them to notice our blog by using keywords in every post I wrote. For example, in the post I explained what “War is Peace, Freedom is Slavery, Ignorance Is Strength” means, I used the phrases from the quote a lot, because I know people who want to know the meaning of the quote will type these words into a search engine. From what I know, search engines have databases that look for common keywords in websites and then they use this to place them somewhere in the search engine (even if that is in like the 20th or 100th page of Google).

Another thing I did was to use very specific tags that people who look for a very specific topic would type into a search engine. I knew that if I only tagged #1984 or something general, then people who look for something more specific about the book wouldnt be able to find the information in our blog.

Luckily, our blog already has a some followers!  We have just about 5 followers, but I think it is a good start.

To those of you who follow our blog, thank you!

Leave a Reply

